Follow Me

Apr 102019

More details to follow!

If you have any upcoming community events or service opportunities you would like to share with the club, email

April 23rd: East Cooper Rotaract Meeting 5-6pm Grace and Grit

April 23rd: No Meeting This Week.. Social Date and Time TBD

April 26th: District Spring Training, 9-1pm, Orangeburg-Calhoun Tech College

April 26th: Ted Chestnutt Year Ahead Planning Meeting 8-10am

May 4th: Special Olympics Bocce Bash, MUSC Health Stadium DI 9:30am

June 1st: Charleston Duck Race @5pm

Jun 262014

Don’t know which ECB Rotary Service Team you’re on? Refer to this post any time you need a reminder about who’s on your team.

Tim Walter – Leader
Drew Wagner
Jason Matthews
Jimmy Hart
Lisa Minnick
Jeff Pulley
George Stocko

Sully Witte – Leader
Warren Pruitt
Ted Chestnut
Catherine Stuhr
Westy Westmoreland
Jim Holland
Chase Talbert

Charles Duffy – Leader
Charles Muldrow
Maurice Farrah
Ben Newton
Mike Patterson
Sharon Hartley
Elmire Raven

Chuck Hudson – Leader
Andra Watkins
Sam Howle
Michael Maher
Sharon Strassburg
Dave Low
Jack Vax

Kevin Berry – Leader
Mike Bloser
Stephanie Bates
Alex Sherry
Everett Jones
Paul Curry
Mike Schmitt

Jill Aiken – Leader
Wayne Cassaday
Mel Goodwin
David Schwartz
Mark Condon
Amber Deutsch
Dimi Matouchev

Lawton Hayes  – Leader
Tripp Hoover
Dick Bennington
Ashley Adams
Mike Weeks
Mike Oliveto
Sam Stafford

Mary English – Leader
Alison Dailey
Steve Russell
Andrew Steinmeyer
Mark Yodice
Dawes Cooke
Will Coffey

Jul 152013

Catherine Main, Executive Director at Mt. Pleasant Land Conservancy, will speak on July 16, 2013.

catherineCatherine has an extensive personal and professional background in land conservation in the coastal southeast. Born on Hilton Head and raised on St. Simons Island, Catherine’s passion for land conservation began early. “Living on the coasts of South Carolina and Georgia my entire life has given me great appreciation for how fragile our coastal communities are, and how land trusts can play a vital role in preserving a community’s quality of life,” says Catherine.

She was the founding director of the St. Simons Land Trust, helping to develop a Board of Directors, create a membership program and acquire land donations and conservation easements. Shortly after its founding, the St. Simons Land Trust was recognized by the Land Trust Alliance as one of the most successful new land trusts in the nation. Catherine continued her involvement in coastal conservation with work experiences at the Lowcountry Open Land Trust and most recently at the Kiawah Conservancy.

Catherine resides in Mount Pleasant with her two children and is excited to have the opportunity to work on preservation initiatives closer to home. “Mount Pleasant is a thriving community where people truly love where they live. One of the biggest conservation challenges in the East Cooper area is how to foster the economic benefits of rapid growth without losing the natural community characteristics we all love. If we do not work now to protect natural areas, they will be lost forever.”

Jul 122013

East Cooper Breakfast Rotary gave out several key awards at its Installation Banquet on Tuesday, July 9.

rotary district 7770, rotary eastern south carolina, keyway award

Past President Lisa Minnick, left, received the Keyway Award from Immediate Past President Andra Watkins, right. Minnick served as speaker chair for 2012 – 2013 and was vital to the President’s success during her tenure.

rotary district 7770, rotary eastern south carolina, east cooper breakfast rotary club, service above self award

Rotarian Mike Bloser, left, received ECB Rotary’s Service Above Self Award from Immediate Past President Andra Watkins, right. Bloser conceived and ran ECB Rotary’s first Oktoberfest 5K Race, which raised over $7,000 for area charities in its inaugural year.

rotary district 7770, rotary eastern south carolina, east cooper breakfast rotary club, rotarian of the year award

Rotarian Lawton Hayes, left, was named ECB Rotary’s Rotarian of the Year by Immediate Past President Andra Watkins. Hayes contributed money, time and resources to the club’s Oktoberfest 5K race, and he was instrumental in making its Cinco de May’all party a huge success.




Jul 102013

From Pat Campbell
Honorary member, East Cooper Breakfast Rotary Club

Great news! Marlon, our Gift of Life child from Panama, had a very successful checkup today (July 9, 2013) and was released from MUSC, cleared to go home. Mrs. Pat & I went to the airport to see Delta which not only got them on a flight tomorrow afternoon (July 10, 2013) but agreed to waive all transfer fees for Gift of Life. They will also provide an escort from gate to gate to get the flight to Panama. We very much appreciated the excellent service.

Many many thanks to our host families Helen & Dawes Cooke, Judy & Jim Beery and Pat & Pat Campbell for all the love and attention to Marisin and Marlon. Of course we can never send a child home without extra special thanks to our great friends at MUSC Childrens Hospital especially Dr. Scott Bradley, Dr. Andy Savage, Cathy Rubinstein, Jennifer Reeves & Robin Ohlinger. They make this whole thing work like a charm.
Tomorrow’s schedule:  Delta flight 1730 to Atlanta   Departs Charleston  1:55 pm     Arrives Atlanta    3:06 pm
                                 Delta flight 393  to Panama  Departs Atlanta        5:45 pm    Arrives Panama City  8:51 pm
Please stop at the airport if you have time tomorrow an hour or so before flight time to wish a goodbye.
Jul 082013

end polio nowJuly 9, 2013



Order of Installation

Welcome:  Warren Pruitt

Invocation/Pledge:  John Assey

Guests:  Warren Pruitt

Opening Remarks:  Andra Watkins

Rotary Foundation Awards:  George Stocko

Perfect Attendance Awards:  Alison Dailey

Service Above Self Award:  Andra Watkins

Keyway Award:  Andra Watkins

Rotarian of the Year Award:  Andra Watkins

Installation of 2013-2014 Officers:  Judy Burnstein-Assistant Governor

Closing Remarks:  Andra Watkins and Warren Pruitt

© 2013 East Cooper Breakfast Rotary Club Site design by DesignTechWeb